THE MMM CHRONICLES

writings of a UC marketing major, marie

Writing a Rhetorical Analysis of a Print Ad

Leave a comment

The second essay assignment in my English 1001 class was to write a rhetorical analysis of a print ad, left to our choice.

The ad I chose to write about was a Neutrogena ad for makeup removing towlettes.

Image

 

It’s hard to write a five page paper about an ad that barely has five sentences, but because I am involved in Marketing and Advertising it was a lot easier for me to analyze what Neutrogena was doing to appeal to their customers.

When editing my first draft, I really focused on making sure the structure of my essay was cohesive, since I already had a very clear (but somewhat lengthy) thesis.

Image

 

I also focused on making sure that each paragraph of my essay had a point, an explanation, and an example. This was a very helpful exercise we did in class.

Image

 

My conclusion reinforced my thesis, but needed some structural help:

Image

All of this was fixed in the final version of my essay:

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

